Sabbath Post: Throw Off Everything That Hinders

The sign that I drove by for years that I realized was extremely wise.

We have to reach a point when we will finally decide to do what needs to be done – but until then, we will hem and haw. There are plenty of excuses to be made.

There is an old, beat-up sign out by where I live attached to a local chiropractic office that says the following: “In order to change, we must be sick and tired of being sick and tired.” It was this sign that after driving by it for years, made me realize one morning late last year that I needed to do something about my serious struggles I was having in regards to sin. I am with most people when it comes to change – I don’t like it. It is hard – but it was a puzzle that I had not been able to really crack … until recently. And even then, I am not so good at it.

I have a book, and in it it referenced the first verse in Hebrews chapter twelve of the bible. “Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles, and let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us.” My book called this ‘Running Light’, and tried to really focus on how, if we really want to live God’s way of life, we must ‘throw off’ or ‘get rid of’ or ‘chuck’ anything that hinders us. We must run light.

It was at this time that I realized that I needed to chuck Facebook. I about birthed a cow at the prospect (I was just about to cross the 1,000 friend mark), but I eventually came to. Facebook did not matter – what mattered was running light.

Then my book referenced another verse, Romans 13:14, where the bible says, “But put ye on the Lord Jesus Christ, and make no provision for the flesh, to fulfill the lusts thereof.” The flesh – the tendency of our bodies to love what is wrong, and hate what is right, in God’s eyes at least. So many things fall into the flesh – Galations 5 has a whole list – but they are contrasted with what a person that runs light has: the fruit of the spirit also found in Galations 5.

One of my friends that helps folk in Nigeria says the locals there have a phrase: “Life here is hard”. The phrase is true, but its main purpose is to give reason to why they fulfill the lusts of the flesh. Do we in America use that same thought process? I know I do … even though I have been called out by God, and given amazing riches of money, blessings, a good job, a great family, and forgiveness when I ask of God – I still have to run lightly. This Christian walk is one we have to take step by step and day by day.

May you decide this Sabbath day that it will be a day that is ran lightly!

4 responses to “Sabbath Post: Throw Off Everything That Hinders

  1. Though some people everywhere think that they sin because life is hard, it is far more likely that life is hard because they (and everyone else) sin. After all, the curse that work would be unproductive was the result of sin, as was the curse that our relationships would be troubled with insecurity and the fight for power and resources. And it is our envy and covetousness that is the source of our conflicts. Thanks for the profound reflections. Indeed, the Sabbath is about casting off burdens of all kinds, which is why God commands us to observe it :).

  2. Thanks Nathan. I’d say you are right a very good percentage of the time, I do have to admit, though, the other percentage is either time-and-chance or God’s hand directly … I have seen from different things Paul said that we are going to face trials no matter what our ‘sin state’ is … and to count it all joy. Really, life is about changing our perspective on how we see things – and casting off the burdens, as you mention, is right on. Thanks for reading and participating as always friend.

  3. Wow…i have seen this subject popping up all over in the last 2 months. We’ve chosen a theme very similar to this for the Young Adult Retreat. If it’s alright w/ you, I’d like to throw your name out their as a presenter. We have a meeting Tues, so please let me know by then. I really appreciate your vulnerability in your writing, it’s very moving.

    • That is very kind of you Keri for thinking of me, but I am not sure whether I would be the best at it, not because I don’t know how to present (because God gifted me with a charm and a presenting voice), but because I stink at this as a whole. Remember that bible study we went to the other weekend at the Ledy’s and they asked what were three core truth’s that you have? One that I wrote down was this: “That we are all stupid humans and we need God badly” – so even though I wrote this just 6 months ago, I was trying to remind myself of how much I needed God because I was not doing so hot in my fight against sin. So – send me a message offline and we’ll continue to discuss.

Leave a Reply

