How I Know My Wife Married the “Wrong” Person

I am trying to get beyond what I beginning to believe has been a lie of finding this thing called a ‘soul mate’ – and maybe this reblog by Tyler McKenzie shows where I am currently. In other words, is there a difference between ‘God-blessed’ vs ‘match-made-in-heaven’. Where are you in your own thinking?

CROSS-SHAPED STUFF

wedding 2
Photo Credit: Suni Danielle Photography

Today my wife Lindsay and I celebrate our two year anniversary. Two years ago, we tied the knot and took the plunge. Two years ago, the cutest girl in Indiana was taken off the market! Two years ago, we launched the beginning of the rest of our lives. Two years ago…

And after two years, there’s no hiding behind the dinner-and-a-movie façade of dating life any longer. I can’t buy enough flowers to conceal it. I can’t open enough doors. I can’t say enough “I love you’s.” She knows (and painfully, so do I) that she married the wrong person.

View original post 1,068 more words

3 responses to “How I Know My Wife Married the “Wrong” Person

  1. As a very happily married man of two years myself, I can’t agree more. No one is the “right” person out of all 7 billion people in the world. However, when you put God first and work hard at your marriage every day of your life, you better believe you can become the “right” people for each other.

    • Thanks Milan! This reminds me of the conversation we had recently about how we in the western world seem to forget that marriage means work (i.e. becoming ‘right’) – where those in the ‘arranged marriage’ cultures seem to be born with that knowledge.

  2. Father Nitzberg

    As per–“”is there a difference between ‘God-blessed’ vs ‘match-made-in-heaven”–both are synomynous. Your soulmate is not just anyone you chose to make your spouse. IF you let God bring that special someone into your life– which is by His doing, and in no way of your own means– and you work hard at making them #1 in your life, then the two of you will become one.

    You cannot expect any of this to happen if you are not ready, or if you are not in “the place God wants you to be in”. IOW, God 1st, future spouse next, and you after that… We must let go entirely, in order to let God do what needs to be done…

Leave a Reply

